Posted by: Northern Bird | January 1, 2014

Auld Lang Syne

I love bringing in the New Year with a good old rendition of Auld Lang Syne. I do get quite emotional while singing it. It was always a tradition to sing this every year. I was brought up with it.

So to end a very eventful 2013 we had my 2 daughters and my son, my sister, her partner, my nephew, my oldest daughters boyfriend and my sons girlfriend round to bring in 2014.
At midnight hubby and I stood, crossed arms and began to sing. Nobody else joined in.

How sad that a tradition used by many families and generations no longer sing this. But I’m even more sad that I know it will not be passed on to further generations.

The lyrics are heartwarming. I suppose it’s why I get slightly emotional. But many just sing it without knowing what the song is about.

Goodbye tradition. I will carry you on every year until I am no longer on this earth. I will pester my children and grandchildren (if I am blessed with any) to sing in the new year with you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

